NCGIA Technical Report 95-14

NCGIA Research Initiative 17: Collaborative Spatial Decision-Making
Scientific Report for the Specialist Meeting

continued

Table of Contents Sections 1-3 Section 4 Sections 5-6

APPENDIX A.
LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Initiative Leaders

Marc P. Armstrong
Department of Geography
The University of Iowa
316 Jessup Hall
Iowa City IA 52242
phone: (319) 335-0153
fax: (319) 335-2725
email: marc-armstrong@uiowa.edu

Paul J. Densham
Department of Geography and
Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis
University College London
26 Bedford Way
London WC1H OAP
U.K.
phone: 44-171-387-7050 ext. 5502
fax: 44-171-380-7565
email: pdensham@geography.ucl.ac.uk

Karen K. Kemp
NCGIA
Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara CA 93106-4060
phone: (805) 893-7094
fax: (805) 893-8617
email: kemp@ncgia.ucsb.edu

Steering Committee

Joseph Ferreira
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Mass Avenue, Room 9-516
Cambridge MA 02138
phone: (617) 253-7410
fax: (617) 253-3625
email: jf@MIT.EDU

Britton Harris
Department of City and Regional Planning
University of Pennsylvania
127 Meyerson Hall
Philadelphia PA 19104-6311
phone: (215) 848-4846
fax: (215) 898-5137

Timothy Nyerges
Department of Geography
University of Washington
Box 353550
Seattle WA 98195
phone: (206) 543-5296
fax: (206) 543-3313
email: nyerges@u.washington.edu


Participants

David A. Bennett
Department of Geography
Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
Carbondale IL 62901-4514
phone: (618) 453-3022
email: dbennett@siucvmb.siu.edu

Steve Carver
Department of Geography
Leeds University
Leeds LS2 9JT
U.K.
phone: 44-113-233 3318
fax: 44-113-233-3308
email: steve@geography.leeds.ac.uk

David Coleman
Laboratory for Geographical Engineering
Department of Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering
University of New Brunswick
Fredericton NB E3B 5A3
Canada
phone: 506-453-5194
fax: 506-453-4943
email: dcoleman@unb.ca

Joseph Delotto
Geographic Information Systems Group
Network Planning & Engineering Systems Lab
NYNEX Science & Technology,Inc.
500 Westchester Ave.
Room 2F-13
White Plains NY 10604
phone: (914) 644-2933
fax: (914) 644-2237
email: jsd@nynexst.com

Brenda G. Faber
CIESIN/TERRA
1201 Oakridge Drive, Suite 100
Fort Collins CO 80525
phone: (970) 282-5488
fax: (970) 282-5499
email: bfaber@terra.colostate.edu

Steven P. Frysinger
College of Integrated Science and Technology
Integrated Science and Technology Program
James Madison University
Harrisonburg VA 22807
phone: (540) 568-2710
fax: (540) 568-2761
email: frysinsp@jmu.edu or frysinger@att.com

Francois Golay
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
Spatial Information Systems
DGR
GR-Ecublens
Lausanne CH-1015
Switzerland
phone: 41 (21) 693 57 81
fax: 41 (21) 693 57 90
email: francois.golay@dgr.epfl.ch

Thomas F. Gordon
GMD, KIT-KI, Schloss Birlinghoven
Sankt Augustin 53754
Germany
phone: (49 2241) 14-2665
email: thomas.gordon@gmd.de

Jon Gottsegen
NCGIA
Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara CA 93106-4060
phone: (805) 893-8652
fax: (805) 893-8617
email: jgotts@ncgia.ucsb.edu

Lewis Hopkins
Department of Urban and Regional Planning
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
907 1/2 West Nevada
Urbana IL 61801
phone: (217) 244-5404
fax: (217) 244-1717
email: lhopkins@ux1.cso.uiuc.edu

Piotr Jankowski
Department of Geography
University of Idaho
Moscow ID 83843
phone: (208) 885-6452
fax: (208) 885-2855
email: piotrj@uidaho.edu

Douglas M. Johnston
National Center for Supercomputing Applications
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
4115 Beckman Institute
405 N. Mathews Avenue
Urbana IL 61801
phone: (217) 244-5995
fax: (217) 244-4568
email: johnston@gis.uiuc.edu

Rachel Jones
LUTCHI Research Centre
Department of Computer Studies
Loughborough University
Loughborough LE11 3TU
U.K.
phone: 44-1509-222789
fax: 44-1509-610815
email: R.M.Jones@lut.ac.uk

David Lemberg
Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara CA 93106-4060
phone: (805) 968-8734
fax: (805) 893-8617
email: lemberg@geog.ucsb.edu

Seymour J. Mandelbaum
Department of City and Regional Planning
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia PA 19104-6311
phone: (215) 898-6492
fax: (215) 898-5731
email: mandel@pobox.upenn.edu

Alex T. Pang
Computer and Information Sciences
University of California, Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz CA 95064
phone: (408) 459-2712
fax: (408) 459-4829
email: pang@cse.ucsc.edu

Dimitris Papadias
NCGIA
Department of Spatial information Science and Engineering
Univesity of Maine, Orono
Orono ME 04469-5711
phone: (207) 581-2127
email: dimitris@spatial.maine.edu

Thomas W. Pederson
Graduate School of Fine Arts
University of Pennsylvania
316 Meyerson Hall
210 South 34th
Philadelphia PA 19104-6311
phone: (215) 898-7458
fax: (215) 898-9215
email: twped@dolphin.upenn.edu

James D. Proctor
Department of Geography
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara CA 93106-4060
phone: (805) 893-8741
fax: (805) 893-3146
email: jproctor@geog.ucsb.edu

Rene F. Reitsma
CADSWES
University of Colorado, Boulder
Campus Box 421
Boulder CO 80309
phone: (303) 492-4828
fax: (303) 492-1347
email: reitsma@cadswes.colorado.edu

Michael J. Shiffer
Department of Urban Studies & Planning
Massachussetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave. Room 9-514
Cambridge MA 02139
phone: (617) 253-0782
fax: (617) 253-3625
email: mshiffer@mit.edu

Susan Suchocki
Claremont Graduate School
130 E. Ninth Street
Claremont CA 91711-6190
phone: (909) 621-8209
email: SUCHOCKI@bus3.bus.iastate.edu

Steve J. Tomlinson
Department of Environmental & Geographical Sciences
Manchester Metropolitan University
John Dalton Extension
Oxford Rd
Manchester M1 5GD U.K.
phone: 44-61-247-6209
fax: 44-61-247-6344
email: S.Tomlinson@mmu.ac.uk

William Wallace
CIESIN/TERRA
1201 Oakridge Drive, Suite 100
Fort Collins CO 80525
phone: (970) 282-5480
fax: (970) 282-5499
email: wwallace@terra.colostate.edu

Jeff Wang
Lockheed-Martin Service Group
NESC/U.S. EPA Scientific Visualization Center
P.O. Box 14365
86 Alexander Drive, MS24/ERC1
Research Triangle Park NC 27709
phone: (919) 541-7662
fax: (919) 541-0056
email: jfwang@vislab.epa.gov


APPENDIX B.
SPECIALIST MEETING AGENDA

Saturday, September 16th, 1995

4:30 - Demonstrations and reception
7:30 - Adjourn for dinner

Sunday, September 17th, 1995

7:30 - Breakfast

8:30 - Opening plenary session
- Welcome and charge to the meeting
- Introductions and opening positions
- Discussion of agenda

12:00 - Lunch on the hotel patio
1:30 - Small group discussion sessions
4:00 - Plenary to present group discussion
5:00 - Adjourn for dinner

Monday, September 18th, 1995

7:30 - Breakfast

8:30 - Short plenary
- Small group and plenary sessions as appropriate
12:00 - Lunch

1:30 - Small group and plenary sessions as appropriate
5:00 - Adjourn for dinner

7:00 - Dinner at Acapulco Restaurant, 1114 State Street

Tuesday, September 19th, 1995

7:30 - Breakfast

8:30 - Small group and plenary sessions as appropriate
12:00 - Lunch

1:30 - Final plenary
4:00 - Close the meeting


   Go forward to Appendix C

   Go to Table of Contents


Posted March 28, 1996

Comments to Karen Kemp